I’m a full-time fitness instructor!


Lately, I’ve been realizing the freedom I have now that I am teaching yoga full-time.  I don’t have a regular 9-5 office job.  I don’t have to wear suits, dresses or makeup everyday.  There are days, I don’t teach until noon.  Talk about getting a lot of beauty sleep!  I can plan out my week so I can take different aerobic classes when I am not teaching.  But the down-side is I make enough money to pay my rent and bills.  I don’t have much spending cash and I do have to pick up a part-time job as a hostess to have some ‘fun funds’.  I am so grateful for the fact that my yoga clothes is being provided by Lululemon because I am an ambassador of one of their stores.  Ahh, like any other girls I love clothes – even if it’s high-end spandex 🙂

I am in training this weekend to teach a new high-intensity total body workout called Jungshin Fitness.   As I was chatting with other instructor, I realized that I don’t have anything to fall back on – my body is my source of income.  Giving up a full-time traditional corporate career is one gutsy thing I’ve done in a really long time.  I am teaching yoga because I love it and I am a testament that it can change lives.  I want to be able to make a difference in people’s lives, whether it be big or small, if they know it or not – I want to be able to inspire people as I had been inspired.

During the Jungshin training, I felt invigorated and inspired.  I was aware I was judging myself and then judging the other participants.  Then I had to check-in with myself and say, “Stop the judgement, this is new and you’re learning a new skill and so are the other people here.  Chill out!”  I had so much fun learning the cutting techniques and when we went into sparring man, the inner Ninja in me came out!  Oh yeah…we use a 41″ wooden sword in class.  I have never done anything like this before.  The first time I took a class, I was praying to make it out alive and I was only 15 minutes into it.  The training was fun, informational, challenging and I left feeling like I had accomplished so much.  I never thought that this is what I would be doing as a living.  There was a time when shopping was ‘exercise’.  Now, if I don’t break a sweat, I don’t feel like I am working out.  Interesting how people grow and change.

On the last day, we had about 10 minutes to teach.  I felt nervous which was interesting because when I teach, I feel like I am sharing something I love with my students.  One of the participants did the training a few months ago so she helped me with my teaching.  It was great to get some coaching because I wasn’t 100% sure about my form.  She was so kind with her feedback and I learned so much from her.  I realize now that I didn’t use any of her tips during my teaching but I felt a lot more comfortable saying the cues we were taught.  I realize could fall back in my yoga world or use the skills I have learned, add in Ha-spice and really be with my fellow trainees.

I am happy I did the training.  I felt like a fish out of water but it was good to know that I survived (with some scraps and bruises) and one day I will be teaching Jungshin and see the excitement in my students eyes that is still in me when I pick up that wooden sword!

To learn more about Jungshin Fitness, please check out these websites:

http://www.nbcwashington.com/news/health…
http://www.annikakahn.wordpress.com

 

One thought on “I’m a full-time fitness instructor!

  1. Ha,

    You did a wonderful job at the Jungshin Instructor training. Your extensive yoga background had to come in handy with most of the technical movements required with the sword. 🙂

    I’m glad to know that we have another full time fitness professional to help America to become a healthier nation.

    Best,

    DR3

Leave a Reply

